top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturetamia jordan

Fill in the Blank: A Poem

Updated: Nov 1, 2020


Dear mama:

You gave me life

I will forever be your baby, your big boy, your little man, your young man, your son

You felt my first kick

You heard my first cry

You witnessed my first breath


Dear government:

You tried to teach me to fear myself

The clock started counting down on my first day

I was your public enemy #1 on my first day

You declared the mistakes I made growing up a death sentence

You heard my last cry

You stole my last breath


Dear resistors:

As my heart beat that last time

As I exhaled my last breath and you inhaled your next

As I exhaled my…last…breath my life force was transferred to you

Use this gift wisely

Let my name be your battle cry

My Black life mattered, make my [Black??] death matter


Untitled poem for [fill in the blank]


by tamia rashima jordan

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page